Daily Thoughts

New Hair New Me

Over Winter Break, I cut over a foot of hair off of my head. Since my freshman year of high school, I wanted to grow out my hair to my belly button, and then cut it all off to donate to Locks of Love. By the end of high school, however, I prided myself on my long, naturally blonde hair. I was extremely attached to my hair.

High school, as it is for many people, was an experience that was very tumultuous for me. I was treated poorly by significant others and friends alike. I had a problem with thinking that I did not deserve better treatment than what I was given.

When I went into college, I still was in that mind set. I still felt like I did in high school, insecure and anxious. I looked the exact same my first semester at BYU than when I was a senior in high school.

At the end of the semester, I had an epiphany. I am beginning to gain self respect and not tolerate poor treatment. I feel more mature and independent than I ever have in my entire life. Cutting my hair was a way to visually change and helped represent the change that was occuring internally.

I look older, am accepting myself, and am beginning to feel better than I have in a very long time.

Leave a Reply

