Travel Adventures

New York Memory Snapshot Part 2

Strange flashbacks of the night before started returning to me. Freaking out backstage and doing weird, embarrassing dance moves to get the nerves out. Having to walk out first onto the stage of Carnegie Hall. How time seemed to slow as I gazed out at the audience, at the huge, ornate auditorium, blinking in the bright lights. Walking back to the hotel in our concert dresses, singing at the top of our lungs, high off of the adrenaline rush from getting a standing ovation, with no passerby thinking a second thought. Sneaking out of the hotel to get pizza and gelato at midnight, and running back, trying not to get caught, with the lights so bright and traffic so busy, you would think it was six in the evening.

I blinked, bringing myself back to reality, and squeezed toothpaste onto my toothbrush, then trying to brush my hair with one hand and my teeth with the other. I splashed water on my face, threw my hair into a ponytail, and got dressed. All three of my room mates were still in bed, and I quietly said goodbye as I opened the heavy room door and walked quickly down the hallway. As I stood inside the mirrored elevator with my eyelids feeling heavier by the second, I wondered why I was even bothering to do this. Before I could think of acting on my instinct to rush back upstairs and go to bed, the elevator dinged and I was in the dimly lit lobby. I took a deep breath. There was no going back now.

Leave a Reply

