Poetry

First Visit Alone

I slam the door of the car and I wonder

Will I be fulfilled and content here

Or filled with doubt and a heart torn asunder?

Knees are knocking as I’m riddled with fear

I step onto the pavement frosty,

Feeling wobbly, I grab my sister’s arm,

Thinking, that plane fare was very costly,

I look around and sniff the smell of farm.

My anxious thoughts about to collide

Until I hear that blessed noise –

A bark coming from the house, inside.

I smile, picturing my bag of toys

A flash of fur, licking, no teeth, no bite.

With a deep breath, I realize everything’s all right.

Leave a Reply

