Harry Potter

JK Rowling

JK Rowling. One of the richest women on the planet. Mother of three children. Author of one of the most successful book series in history. The Harry Potter series has been with me as I have grown up and it has made me the person I am today. Many people may say “Oh, that’s a children’s series” or “only kids can read it.” My automatic reaction to statements such as these is to pull out a wand and send a nice Bat-Bogey Hex right towards their nasal cavity, but I have to realize that they simply do not understand that there is real magic in this book series. No matter how cheesy this sounds, JK Rowling’s way of writing her stories, intertwining details throughout the series, and dealing with very real problems in every single book is truly magical. These books were invaluable to me as a very manipulatable child. I was still learning who I wanted to be like, and more importantly, who I was deep down. These books taught me that no matter what your situation is, it is your choice to be kind, loyal, courageous, and true. The book’s fantastical backdrop with young protagonists does not lessen the true significance of these stories and their morals.

Leave a Reply

