Harry Potter

The Chamber of Secrets

In the second book of the series, we as readers learn that there is a prejudice against wizards or witches that are not of “pureblood” descent. This is the equivalent of racism in the magical community.

“Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” is probably my least favorite of the series, even though I still have a deep connection with it. The plot is disturbing and is driven by an eleven year old girl being manipulated and used by a dashing, older man. It also contains fraud maintained by the taking of intimate and personal items (in this case, it is memories being stolen). However, this book helped me on a very deep, meaningful level. I have had three out my four grandparents pass away while I have been alive. The theme of someone never being truly gone as long as those who remain loyal to them are still around has helped me through my mourning.

Leave a Reply

