Daily Thoughts

Reading and Perspective

“Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.” – Joyce Carol Oates

Often, my perspective on things change after I read a book. Depending on the narrator, of course, I am always brought to light about some topic or issue that I wasn’t fully aware of. After I read “Pride & Prejudice,” I learned not to make snap judgments on anyone, no matter who they are. After I read the “Fablehaven” series, I learned to stop and smell the roses, you never know what you’ll discover. After I read “The Hunger Games,” I learned that I need to learn how to hunt in case of an upcoming apocalypse. What I’m trying to say is that books can give new meaning to life if you let them. If you don’t consider yourself a good reader, find a book that has something you’re fascinated by, or you have heard good reviews about. I guarantee that if you put effort into a story, it will give you a strange sense of happiness that only a good book can bring. Orhan Pamuk once said, “I read a book one day, and my whole life was changed.”

Leave a Reply

