Daily Thoughts

Hatred?

“I HATE EVERYONE”

– stereotypical teenager

Lately, I’ve noticed that I am not nearly as happy as I used to be. I don’t seem to enjoy things as much, and am having a tendency to make snap judgments about people. I have realized that maybe after joking around about “hating everyone” so much, I have started to follow that philosophy. Now this is definitely not the kind of person I want to be, so I am going to try to start being more positive in my life. However, after this self realization of my drastic need of attitude improvement, I began to wonder: Why?

What started my so called “hate” for my fellow peers?

Negativity is being glorified on the internet, especially for teenagers. Not just disdain towards others, but disgust with oneself.

I am not going to sit here and pretend that I have not contributed to the generation of online angst, but I will say that this needs to be put to an end. Yes, it is very funny to read something relatable on tumblr about some idiotic “popular” kids, but saying you hate everyone? Believe me, I am starting to learn that the idea of hatred towards all that are around you is not nearly as fun as it seems.

Leave a Reply

