Daily Thoughts

How To Be Beautiful Part 2

Another struggle that I briefly mentioned before is the idea that we have to be worldly, outwardly beautiful for a guy to like us. Our society has taught boys that the objectification of women is all right. It’s normal. Saying, “I’m a boobs guy” or “I can’t deal with short hair” is completely acceptable. I’ve seen statements on twitter and facebook alike that have talked about what guys just cannot have in a potential girlfriend.

To this I say, “shut up.” This mental state that a lot of people have is that girls are just parts and pieces that make up a human form. Nothing else matters. This is not okay, nor acceptable. This is what makes people think that rape isn’t a big deal. This is what makes people think that rape is, at anytime, the victim’s fault, or that the victim was “asking for it.” This is never the case. We have to stop and think, how can someone else’s opinion about me be more important than my opinion about me?”

I know this is much easier said than done.

I deal with the same struggles everyday. I think Elisabeth Kübler-Ross said it the best,

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”

I know I have gone off onto many different tangents in this post, but what I’ve really wanted to come across is that even though it’s hard to believe, our opinion of ourselves is far more important than anyone else’s. Do what is best for you, and leave everyone who disagrees in the dust. Because, guess what? It’s none of their business.

Leave a Reply

